DUII & Felony DUII
Being charged with a drunk driving or DUI offense can be a traumatic experience for a driver. In the event that you are arrested for drunk driving, you will need experienced legal representation that can immediately start communicating with the district attorney and judge, prepare your defense, help you reinstate your driving privileges, and work to mitigate penalties and fines expediently.
With more than 10 years of experience handling DUI cases, Gilroy Napoli Short Law Group can help to defend your driving privileges throughout Oregon. We can obtain a DMV hearing with an administrative law judge. Our experienced Oregon DUI attorneys can fight to reinstate your driving privileges or help prevent your license from being suspended.
Call us today at 503-747-7198 for a free consultation with a lawyer.
Oregon DUI Lawyers
Additionally we also provide DUI Defense for people in the following areas: Tillamook County, Columbia County, Hood River, Astoria, Seaside, St. Helens, Scappoose, Marion County, Linn County, Yamhill County, Fairview, Wood Village, Maywood Park, Newberg, McMinnville, and Dundee Oregon.
Oregon Drunk Driving Defense Attorneys
In Oregon, if you are pulled over for drunk driving, and you have a Blood Alcohol Level (BAC) of .15 percent or above, you can be fined for a minimum of $2,000.
DUII arrests (driving under the influence of intoxicants) are categorized into two separate cases:
- A criminal case, which can include jail time, fines, mandatory rehabilitative classes, required ignition interlock devices and other consequences
- A DMV case, which involves possible driver’s license suspension from 90 days up to three years
There are also varying legal ramifications if you are a first-time, second-time or third-time offender or more. A first-time DUII offender is most likely facing:
- 18-month to 24-month probation period
- At least 48 hours in jail or at least 80 hours of community service
- Court costs, fees and assessments totaling about $400
- A mandatory minimum fine of $1,000
- A court order to obey all laws during a probation period
- A court order not to drink alcohol, or use or possess drugs
- A court order to attend a victims’ impact panel
Multiple DUII Offenses
For a second DUII, you are facing an increased mandatory minimum fine of $1,500 and an extended driver’s license suspension of up to three years.
If you are a third-time DUII offender, the offense has been elevated to a felony, which can result in a prison sentence of up to five years. Your mandatory minimum fine will increase to at least $2,000, and your driver’s license could be revoked for life.
Four or more DUII conviction cases face a prison term of at least 18 months, along with a lifetime suspension of driving privileges and mandatory fines.
Our aggressive attorneys will fight for your rights and work to win your DUI case. Plea bargains are prohibited in Oregon DUI cases, so representation from a confident, experienced attorney is crucial. With our knowledge of the most current search and seizure procedures, we are able to determine whether or not the DUI arrest was conducted according to accurate protocol and help minimize damages and charges.
Eligible for Diversion? We Can Help.
Another option is a diversion program, which requires a guilty plea of no contest, your agreement to undergo alcohol assessment and treatment, attendance at a victims’ impact panel, fees, assessments and court costs. The DUI conviction, however, will be dismissed if you successfully complete the diversion program. Several eligibility requirements apply, so it is necessary to consult with an attorney before pursuing this option.
Free Consultation — Contact Gilroy Napoli Short Law Group
Contact us today to schedule a free initial consultation and discover your legal options. You may call the Gilroy Napoli Short Law Group at 503-747-7198.
We represent people throughout Oregon including Multnomah County, Deschutes County, Jefferson County, Crook County, Klamath County, Clackamas County and Washington County Oregon.
Se habla español.